Minnesota Public Records

Minnesota Public Records, Dockets & Cases At Court Administration Offices

Minnesota public records: divorce records, deaths, and marriages

Minnesota Public Records

Vital records are part of Minnesota public records and are maintained by the Office of the State Registrar within the Department of Health. Certified copies of these records can be obtained by immediate family members, legal guardians, and some others. These Minnesota public records can be obtained by mail, by fax, or in person, at least back to 1900 for births and 1908 for deaths. Marriages and divorces are not registered statewide and records must be obtained in the proper county. The State Court Administrator’s Office provides access to civil, criminal, and traffic court records in person and online.

Lookup Public Records In Minnesota Counties

Hennepin  County

Minnesota's Hennepin County District Court maintains records relating to civil court, conciliation court, criminal and problem-solving courts, family court, housing court, juvenile court and probate/mental health courts. All court records through Hennepin County are in the process of being digitized, thereby allowing for Internet retrieval.

Ramsey  County

Minnesota's Ramsey County Vital Records office maintains the following records: birth records, death records, divorce records, marriage licenses, marriage records, notary registration, credentials of ordination and legal name changes. Individuals may obtain these records either by mail or by a walk-in service. Individuals can print out a PDF version of the application to obtain the records.

Dakota  County

Minnesota's Dakota County Permits and Licenses Department maintains the following records: birth certificates, death certificates, marriage certificates, marriage licenses and passports. Individuals may obtain these records either by mail or in person. Additional fees are related to certified copies. No debit cards or credit card are accepted when purchasing records.

Minnesota Counties Record Resources