Utah Public Records

Utah Public Records, Dockets & Cases At Court Administration Offices

Utah public records: divorce records, deaths, and marriages

Utah Public Records

Utah public records include most court records but exclude most vital records. The Utah Department of Health, Office of Vital Records and Statistics releases information to family members only. After 50 years, death records are sent to the Division of Archives and Records Service, 75 years for marriage/divorce records and 100 years for birth records. Utah public records’ collection began in 1905 for births/deaths and 1978 for marriages/divorces; prior marriages are at the county court and divorces at the district court. Court records are available online for a subscription fee, and many records/opinions/briefs are also available at the Utah State Archives or State Law Library.

Lookup Public Records In Utah Counties

Salt Lake  County

Utah's Salt Lake County, through the Salt Lake Valley Health Department, Vital Records Department, maintains all vital records related to the county, including birth and death records. Individuals may obtain vital records by completing the online application; certified copies can be obtained through the Vital Records Office. Individuals can receive records either in person, through the mail or online.

Utah  County

Utah's Utah County Health Department, Vital Records Department, maintains all records, including birth certificates and death certificates. The Vital Records Department works alongside with the State Office of Vital Records to provide individuals with copies of vital records. Marriage records are maintained and distributed through the County Clerk's office.

Davis  County

Utah's Davis County Vital Records Office maintains vital records regarding the county, including birth certificates and death certificates. Birth certificates from births occurring anywhere in the state of Utah may be obtained through the County website. Utah County birth certificates are available through this office from 1905 to the present. Marriage certificates may be obtained through the Davis County Clerk's Office.

Utah Counties Record Resources