Public Records Search

a-z, dash, period, spaces only
a-z, dash, period, spaces only

Tennessee Administrative Office of the Courts

Court Records

State office

Administrative Office of the Courts

Nashville City Center

511 Union St, Suite 600 Nashville, TN 37219

Records Available:

Tennessee’s judicial system is divided into four tiers: the Supreme Court, two tiers of appellate courts, and local courts. The 95 counties comprise 31 judicial districts, each with a circuit and chancery court, and 13 with criminal courts. Circuit courts hear civil and criminal cases; chancery courts hear only civil cases. Local courts include general sessions, juvenile, probate, and municipal. The Tennessee Administrative Office of the Courts is responsible for all public court records.

Tennessee  Court Record Availability

Except for certain online research capabilities, all court record access must be done at the local level.

Access to Tennessee Court Records

Retrieving Records

A statewide Tennessee Court Information System called TnCIS was implemented in 2011 by the Tennessee Administrative Office of the Courts to facilitate case management and public access. Individual websites are available for the Supreme Court, Davidson county courts, district courts, and for opinions by the appeals courts and Supreme Court. Court records are also available at the individual court and the Tennessee State Library, including record abstracts back to 1778. Clerks of Court keep the records of each court.


Online records are free, as are the library books with historical record abstracts. Searching at the individual court level can be time-consuming and expensive.

Years Available

Some online records currently date back to 1995. 1778-1914 record abstracts are published in books. Other time periods are available at the specific court.